Kevin Barron’s Expenses in his Window

After the recommendation of the PLP that all Labour MPs make their expenses details public as soon as possible, Kevin Barron put some details about his second home expenses in the window of his constituency office.

Although I have seen this reported in a few places, no media source seems to have repeated the information. So, with my pubic duty hat on, I went down to hve a look for myself. What there is in the window is a letter, and a breakdown of Kevin Barron’s second-home allowance for the last four years.

The letter reads:

Notice from Kevin Barron MP

Regarding my second home allowance

I have always used this allowance for my London accommodation in all the years I have been the MP for the Rother Valley. My Maltby home has always been my main home.

You will find below the details of how I have used my second home allowance from April 2004 to March 2008. I have only claimed for the categories that figures are entered in. I have always put in individual receipts for my claims after I had paid them except for the cleaning of my flat in the year 2004/5 (£400).

The details of these claims were to be published in July of this year. However, due to the leaking of the information to the naional press I thought it would be better to share these figures with you now, the detailed publication from the House of Commons will follow.

Note that it is possible there is another line of text, but I took the photos in such strong sunlight I couldn’t see the screen of my phone to frame it properly! Click here to see the picture I took.

The details of the expenses are:

2004/5 Second Homes Claim for Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley
Mortgage Interest or Rent : £14,557.70 (average of Bank of England base rate in this period: 4.6%)
Utilities: £670.79
Council Tax: £707.56
Phone/Communications: £359.62
Cleaning £400.00
Services/Maintenance: £4005.05

2004/5 Total: £20,700.72 (reported total £20,902)

2005/6 Second Homes Claim for Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley
Mortgage Interest or Rent : £17,098.76 (average of Bank of England base rate in this period: 4.58%)
Utilities: £515.81
Council Tax: £845.15
Phone/Communications: £385.13
Service/Maintenance: £2789.15

2005/6 Total £21,634.00

2006/7 Second Homes Claim for Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley
Mortgage Interest or Rent : £18,481.25 (average of Bank of England base rate in this period: 4.83%)
Utilities: £865.80
Council Tax: £548.33
Phone/Communications: £116.95
Service/Maintenance: £2097.67

2006/7 Total: £22,110.00

2007/8 Second Homes Claim for Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley
Mortgage Interest or Rent : £19,936.72 (average of Bank of England base rate in this period: 5.52%)
Utilities: £445.61
Council Tax: £908.13
Service/Maintenance: £1792.54

2007/8 Total £23,991.13

2 responses to “Kevin Barron’s Expenses in his Window

  1. I need my maths clarifying please, and a definition of “services and maintenance” as per Mr Barron’s expenses.

    Between 2004 and 2008 a total of approx £10, 684 on services and maintenance ? Is this correct ? And what did he get done for this money ?

    If the maintenance of his 2nd home takes this amount over 4 years, I suggest that he contacts RMBC about their “Decent Homes” policy and gets them to persuade Westminster Council (or whichever council his flat comes under) to have a look at his home as it does not seem to be very cost effective. Maybe it could have some cavity wall insulation done, or some plastic cladding slapped on the frontage which would, allegedly, also save on energy bills.

    http://www.rotherham.gov.uk/graphics/Yo … rategy.htm

    http://www.westminster.gov.uk/housing/h … rategy.cfm

  2. It’s a thought. The amount he’s paying in ‘mortgage interest/rent’ is all over the place, so I assume it’s interest, rather than rent. It would be nice if Kevin Barron MP could clarify if he is claiming mortgage or rent on his expenses – his ‘transparency’ should really reveal that.

    What is noticeable is the big jump from 2005 to 2006.

    The way some MPs are claiming their expenses would never have occurred to me – for example it came out over the weekend that David Cameron paid off one of his loans not long after he increased the loan on his expenses funded property – the implication being that he saved interest on the loan he was paying and loaded it on to the taxpayer.

    In light of these new and devious ways of maximising ones claim that might not occur to anyone outside of Westminster, it would be nice if Kevin Barron MP could offer a little more clarity.

    It is also odd that he has only chosen to give details of his second-home allowance claim, which represents only a small part of his total expenses claim.

    Kevin – the offer to use this site to publish full details is still open.

Leave a Reply

