Rumours that Reid told Brown to Resign

Alleged conversation yesterday

Gordon Brown: Will you be my Home Secretary?
John Reid: No
Gordon Brown: You have to support me.
John Reid: No I don’t. I have to support my country and my party, and that means you have to stand down.

Iain Dale’s Diary

Who will be Prime Minister this time next week?

Update from The Guardian 16:00

The former Labour home secretary John Reid today denied a report claiming that he had told Brown he should resign when he met him on Tuesday night. Downing Street would not comment on the conversation.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Leave a Reply

